The Translational AI Center will break down disciplinary silos to bring together core Iowa State artificial intelligence researchers and subject matter experts interested in applying new technologies to their work. The center will initially focus on conducting core artificial intelligence research, as well as pursuing five application areas of artificial intelligence:

  1. Materials design and manufacturing;
  2. Biology, healthcare, and quality of life;
  3. Autonomy, intelligent transportation, and smart infrastructure;
  4. Food, energy, and water; and
  5. Ethics, fairness, and adoption.

In addition to serving as a scientific hub for translational artificial intelligence, the center will organize research seminars, host workshops, training, and on-boarding programs, offer seed funding for research projects, and serve as an intermediary between private industry partners seeking research services and appropriate university faculty. See below the members of Translational AI Center.

Members of Translational AI Center

Director

Soumik Sarkar

soumiks@iastate.edu

  • Soumik Sarkar is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Iowa State Univerity. His research focuses on development of data analytics and machine learning algorithms for autonomous perception and decision-making in complex cyber-physical systems with a large variety of application areas including building energy systems, plant science and agriculture, design and manufacturing, and intelligent transportation systems. The nature of his research is inherently multi-disciplinary, involving machine learning, information theory, theory of computation, dynamical systems, topology and statistical mechanics.

Associate Director

Baskar Ganapathysubramanian

baskarg@iastate.edu

  • Baskar Ganapathysubramanian is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Iowa State University. His research interests are in the areas of computational mechanics, multi-physics simulators, control algorithms, data-driven methods to efficiently model these systems. Whenever possible,they validate the techniques using the expertise of their experimental collaborators.

Core Team

Adarsh Krishnamurthy

adarsh@iastate.edu

  • Adarsh Krishnamurthy is an associate professor in the mechanical engineering department at Iowa State University. His research interests include GPU and parallel algorithms, cyber-enabled manufacturing, biomechanics, patient-specific heart modeling, solid mechanics, computational geometry, and ultrasonic non-destructive testing.

Asheesh Singh

singhak@iastate.edu

  • Asheesh Singh is a Professor in the Department of Agronomy. His professional interest is to help improve agricultural production and use research/breeding activities for the benefit of farmers and the agriculture industry. He is committed to develop superior soybean cultivars and germplasm for farmers and other stakeholders. His research goal is to improve agricultural production and to positively impact farmers and the agriculture industry through the development of new products (cultivars, germplasm, methods, tools), gene discovery, and research insights on pertinent topics.

Dan Nettleton

dnett@iastate.edu

  • Dan Nettleton is the Laurence H. Baker Endowed Chair, Distinguished Professor, and Chair of the Department of Statistics at Iowa State University. Dan also serves as Director of the Laurence H. Baker Center for Bioinformatics and Biological Statistics. Nettleton conducts research on statistical methods for the design and analysis of high-dimensional biological datasets. Example data types include transcriptomic data from microarrays or RNA-sequencing, microbiome data, genomic data for use in genome-wide association studies, and data on complex phenotypes. Since joining Iowa State University in 2000, Nettleton's work has been heavily influenced by numerous collaborations with leading plant and animal scientists who seek to understand the functions of genes in biological systems and to learn how genotype and environment interact to shape important phenotypes.

Hailiang Liu

hliu@iastate.edu

  • Hailiang Liu is a Professor at the Department of Mathematics, Iowa State University. He works on a number of areas in Computational and Applied Mathematics, with research interests in the interplay of mathematical modeling of application problems by partial differential equations (PDEs), applied analysis, numerical methods and scientific computing. His current work focuses on the mathematical theory of deep learning and PDE-based data-driven modeling.

James Koltes

jekoltes@iastate.edu

  • James Koltes is a assistant professor in the department of Animal Science.

Janette Thompson

jrrt@iastate.edu

  • Janette is Morrill Professor at Natural Resource Ecology and Management Department. Her current research integrates biophysical, social, and economic aspects of natural resource management and land use change, primarily in urban landscapes. She uses a variety of quantitative and qualitative research tools to understand human perceptions of and interaction with natural resources in urban environments. She also conduct research examining biophysical relationships between land use, plant community composition, water quality, and habitat conditions of streams, under current and predicted climate scenarios. She is also involved in research using statistical modeling to predict risk of woody plant invasiveness.

Jennifer Margrett

margrett@iastate.edu

  • Jennifer is a Professor of Human Development and Family Studies Department.

Julie Dickerson

julied@iastate.edu

  • Julie Dickerson is a Professor at Iowa State University in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECpE). Her core research program focuses on fundamental issues underlying the design of intelligent systems.

Lizhi Wang

lzwang@iastate.edu

  • Lizhi Wang is a Professor in the Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering.

Shawn Dorius

sdorius@iastate.edu

  • Shawn Dorius is a associate professor at Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice. Dr. Dorius conducts research in the areas of social demography, world culture, global social change and research methods. These days, his research focuses on community well-being, computational social science methods and comparative attitudes toward China.

Other Team Members

Aditya Ramamoorthy

adityar@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Ali Jannesari

jannesar@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Anuj Sharma

anujs@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Anwesha Sarkar

anweshas@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Arti Singh

arti@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Carolyn Lawrence-Dill

triffid@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Cassandra Dorius

cdorius@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Chao Hu

chaohu@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Cody Fleming

flemingc@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Duane Johnson

ddj@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Eliot Winer

ewiner@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Guiping Hu

gphu@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Hongwei Zhang

hongwei@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Iddo Friedberg

idoerg@iastate.edu, idoerg@gmail.com


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

In-Ho Cho

icho@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Jin Tian

jtian@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Juan Ren

juanren@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Jue Yan

jyan@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Kristin-Yvonne Rozier

kyrozier@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Matthew Panthani

panthani@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Namrata Vaswani

namrata@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Priyanka Jayashankar

priyanka@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Rizia Bardhan

rbardhan@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Sarah Ryan

smryan@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Simon Laflamme

laflamme@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Sree Nilakanta

nilakant@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Tichakorn Wongpiromsarn

nok@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests:

Ulrike Passe

upasse@iastate.edu


  • Thrust Area:
  • Research Interests: